Traffic crashes are the #1 killer of teens. In 2013, 156 Georgia teens under age 21 were involved in fatal crashes. As a Georgia Teens Ride With P.R.I.D.E. (Parents Reducing Injuries and Driver Error) Instructor, you can help prevent teen crashes in your community.
Who should be an instructor
Public safety officers
Public health officials
Emergency medical workers
Once you have been certified, GTIPI provides all of the materials necessary to conduct the 2-hour Georgia Teens Ride With P.R.I.D.E. class for parents and teens in your local community.
What you'll learn
Teen driving facts and statistics
Driver's Education and Georgia’s Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA).
How to work with parents regarding supervised driving time
How to lead teens in a roundtable discussion about high-risk driving behavior.
The certification course is a 7 hour training, coupled with a 2 hour Parent-Teen P.R.I.D.E. course which participants are required to observe before they will be certified.
P.R.I.D.E. Instructors must re-certify annually.
This is a 9 hour course.
Law Enforcement trainees are eligible to receive nine (9) hours of P.O.S.T. credit for instructor certification
EMS trainees are eligible to receive nine (9) hours of CEU credit
Fire Department trainees are eligible to receive six (6) hours of CEU credit