We serve the college, community, and each other by involving as many dietetics students as possible to promote a message of health, good nutrition, and exercise.

The University of Georgia Student Dietetic Association is an organization run by students in the Department of Foods and Nutrition majoring in Dietetics. We participate in various service projects, such as preparing and distributing sandwiches for Athens PBJ and making breakfast for the homeless with Sparrow’s Nest. We recently became involved with preparing meals for Food2Kids at the Northeast Georgia Food Bank and formed a volunteer partnership with Campus Kitchen to fight senior hunger in Athens. Our club hosts various speakers from around the state who inform us about dietetic internship programs, job options in the field of dietetics, and even eating healthy. Though our organization stays very busy and works very hard to accomplish our goals, we also have lots of fun spending time together and making memories to last a lifetime.

“SDA gave me the opportunity to volunteer on campus and in the community, meet various program directors and ultimately understand how I could increase my chances of being accepted into a dietetic internship.” -Christine Swearingen, BSFCS Dietetics, 2017

SDA Leadership

President: Ayshia Ranjitsingh, ranjitsingh@uga.edu

Vice President: Neal Holliday, neal.holliday25@uga.edu

Secretary: Wells Ross, hwross95@gmail.com

Treasurer: Hadley Gordon, hadley.gordon25@uga.edu

Service Chair: Kathryn Kear, kathryn.kear@uga.edu

Social Chair: Syndey O'Donnell, sydneykodonnell@uga.edu

PR Chair: Emily Owen, emily.owen16@uga.edu

Communications Chair: Lauren Tinkey, lst74481@uga.edu 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Emma Laing, emonk@uga.edu

Helpful Resources

Our Dietetics Major     Involvement Network

Faculty Advisor

Name Job Title / Department Contact
Emma Laing

Emma M. Laing

Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Dietetics

Foods and Nutrition

College of Family and Consumer Sciences

Dr. Emma Laing is a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist and is the Director for the Didactic Program in Dietetics.

309 Dawson Hall
305 Sanford Dr.
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-7983