Dean’s Update 11/18/14

November 18th, 2014 Contact: Linda Fox  |  706-542-4879  | More about Linda


Nominations are now open for college awards. All information on the awards is posted on the college webpage which can be found at the following link:

Below is a listing of the college awards:

  • Advisor of the Year Awards
  • Bill and June Flatt Outstanding Extension and Outreach Faculty Award
  • Bill and June Flatt Outstanding Faculty Research Award
  • Bill and June Flatt Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award
  • Early Career Faculty Research Award*
  • Faculty Mentoring Undergraduate Research Award*
  • Nettie Marie Nickols Outstanding Staff Award
  • Outreach Paraprofessional Award
  • Super-Includer Award
  • Thomas F. Rodgers Outreach County Agent Award

*New award!

Deadline for all awards is the close of business on Tuesday, January 20, 2015.


The Faculty Advisory Committee facilitated efforts to capture ideas and concerns through focus groups on the topic of diversity and inclusion is winding down. One remaining focus group this week, this one for Staff at 9:30 am Wednesday, Nov. 19, Dawson Room 216.

We have completed the drawing at random of names of attendees of the three targeted groups to attend focus groups held earlier this semester. The Staff recipient will be drawn after we complete the final focus group on the 19th. The recipients of the $25 cash gift card to the UGA Bookstore are:

Undergraduate student:  Funmi Jemilugba

Graduate student:  Alexander Jones

Faculty:  Don Bower

The Faculty Advisory Committee is scheduled to meet Wednesday, Dec. 17 at 9:30 am to review the findings of this work led by Professor Janette Hill, College of Education.


The search committee has been named and the notice of vacancy is posted to the web site as the college begins the search to fill the vacant Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education. Individuals serving on the search committee are:

John Grable – Chair

Athletic Association Professor of Family and Consumer Sciences, FHCE

Lillian Eby

Director of the Institute of Behavioral Research

Joe Goetz

Assoc. Professor, Financial Planning, Housing and Consumer Economics

Michael McGough

Grants Coordinator

Sergiy Minko

Georgia Power Professor, Textiles, Merchandising and Interiors,

Robert Pazdro

Assistant Professor, FDN

Emilie Smith

Janette McGarity Barber Distinguished Professor and Head, HDFS

Zo Stoneman

Professor and Director, IHDD

Becky Price

Clerical Support, Dean’s Office

Screening date for review of applications is January 15, 2015. Please help us recruit qualified applicants.


Congratulations to Extension Food Safety Specialists Judy Harrison and colleagues in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences on recognition of the curriculum “Enhancing the Safety of Locally Grown Produce” with the first place Food Safety Award from the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences. Read the full story on our web site

SCHEDULE (Dean’s travel and purpose during the next two weeks):

  • UGA Thanksgiving Holiday, Thursday and Friday, November 27 and 28.
  • The next Dean’s Update will be Tuesday, December 2, 2014.


Linda Kirk Fox


Tags: dean's update