Dean’s Update 3/5/19

March 6th, 2019 Contact: Linda Fox  |  706-542-4879  | More about Linda


Nominations are sought of interested individuals to be placed on electronic ballot for election to represent that cohort on the college’s Faculty Advisory Committee 2019-2021 (term begins Fall semester 2019).

The purpose of FAC is to serve in advisory capacity to the Dean. More information is in our college bylaws, where the function and structure are detailed. We typically meet 3 times fall semester and 3 times spring semester. Accomplishments are reported in the Dean’s Update.

We are looking to fill five two-year positions on FAC:

  1. FHCE faculty (any rank)
  2. TMI faculty (any rank)
  3. Associate Professor (any department)
  4. Instructor/Lecturer (any department)
  5. Public Service & Outreach (any department)

To have his/her name placed on the ballot, interested individuals with the commitment to serving for two years with regularly scheduled meetings with the Dean described above, need to send via email which vacant position eligible to serve to Lynn Parham, in the Dean’s Office before Friday, April 5 @ 12 noon. A ballot will be developed and sent out the following week.

Current members are listed along with college Committees at


Please join us for the spring semester College Assembly on Thursday, April 18 at 3:30 pm in Dawson Hall Rm 110. Agenda will include:

  • Budget and Personnel Updates
  • Excellence in Graduate Education
  • AAFCS Accreditation


FACS College Convocation will begin promptly at 11:00 a.m., Thursday, May 9, in The Classic Center Theatre, 300 North Thomas Street, Athens.

In addition to registering for the UGA undergraduate ceremony, a separate registration is required for student participation in the FACS Convocation. Registration is open until March 22, 4:00 p.m.  Please help us in reminding Seniors planning on attending Convocation.

The university graduate ceremony will take place Friday, May 10 at 9:30 a.m. in Stegeman Coliseum. Loch Johnson, Regents Professor of Public and International Affairs will deliver the spring graduate address.

UGA Undergraduate commencement will begin at 7:00 p.m. in Sanford Stadium. University of Georgia alumni and ABC News correspondent  Deborah Roberts, will deliver the spring undergraduate Commencement address.

The CLEAR BAG policy for UGA athletic events is in effect for Commencement ceremonies in the Stadium and in Stegeman Coliseum.

Both UGA ceremonies will be broadcast live on the Commencement homepage.

Faculty Signup: Please use the following registration link to submit information for faculty planning to attend commencement no later than April 26. Regalia rentals are due to the bookstore by April 3.

Please Register Here for UGA Commencement ceremonies.

Regalia Rental: Rental of faculty regalia will be provided free of charge through the UGA Bookstore. Regalia rentals must be placed at the UGA Bookstore by April 3 to ensure delivery and avoid rush fees. Orders placed after April 3 cannot be guaranteed and will incur rush fees (to be paid for by the faculty member). The Bookstore’s Faculty Regalia Rental Form is attached for your convenience. The UGA Bookstore will assist you and can be reached at (706) 542-3171 or

Parking: Faculty who indicate they require parking when registering will be permitted to park in the Tate Student Center parking deck during Commencement. Faculty also can receive parking passes for Graduate Commencement, if requested. Parking passes will be delivered by Campus Mail to the address provided on the registration form.

Dinner and Lineup: Faculty marching in the undergraduate processional should report to the Tate Center Grand Hall by 6 p.m. A buffet dinner will be provided. Dinner service begins at 5 p.m., and the procession will line up at 6:45 p.m. in Grand Hall (5th floor, Tate Center).

All faculty are welcome to attend the undergraduate and graduate ceremonies, but only those registered will march in the processional.


Congratulations to the following faculty who will be recognized during Honors Weeks April 1 – 5:

  • Caree Cotwright, FDN, 2019 Service-Learning Teaching Excellence Award
  • Joe Goetz, FHCE, 2019 Service-Learning Research Excellence Award and FACS Teacher of the Year
  • Emilie Smith, HDFS, Owens Creative Research Award
  • Michael Thomas, FHCE, Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award


Congratulations to the following students who will be recognized at a luncheon at the President’s House on Wednesday, April 3 of Honors Week:

  • Callie Blackstock, TMI, First Honor Graduate, perfect 4.0 GPA
  • Natalie Morean, HDFS, Presidential Award of Excellence, College nomination
  • Victoria Santini, FHCE, Presidential Award of Excellence, College nomination


The following individuals were notified they are the recipients of the college’s faculty and staff awards for 2019. Their formal recognition will be at the Celebration for Excellence luncheon October 2019. Please join me in congratulating:

  • Anne Allen, SSAC, FACS Outstanding Undergraduate Professional Advisor

  • Clair McClure, TMI, FACS Outstanding Undergraduate Faculty Advisor

  • Joe Goetz, FHCE, Bill & June Flatt Outstanding Teacher of the Year

  • Emilie Smith, HDFS, Bill & June Flatt Outstanding Faculty Research

  • Rob Pazdro, FDN, Early Career Faculty Research

  • Assaf Oshri, HDFS, Faculty Mentoring Undergraduate Research

  • Joan Koonce, FHCE, Bill & June Flatt Faculty Outstanding Extension & Outreach Faculty

  • Michael Rupured and Professional Development of FACS Teachers, Chris Todd Outstanding Outreach award

  • Rhea Bentley, Muscogee County, NW District – Thomas F. Rodgers Outreach County Agent award

  • Teri Edge, Laurens County, SE District, Outreach Paraprofessional Award

  • Justin Miller, FHCE,  Nettie Marie Nickols Staff award

  • Silvia Giraudo, FDN,  Super-Includer Award

  • Melissa Garber, SSAC,  Susan Hale Brooks Professional Development

  • Nathalie Celestin, FDN, Susan Hale Brooks Professional Development

REMINDER: Policy on Annual Leave for Employees Funded on Grants

Please be reminded of the policy concerning annual leave for employees funded on grants. Employees paid form grant funds are required to use all accumulated annual leave priort to the grant’s ending date.

This policy may be found on the College website at:

SCHEDULE (Dean’s travel and purpose during the next two weeks):

  • Friday, March 8  thru March 15, Annual Leave
  • Friday, March 22, GAFCS, Tifton, GA
  • The next Dean’s Update will be the week of March 18.


Linda Kirk Fox

Linda Kirk Fox


The College of Family and Consumer Sciences at the University of Georgia embraces a commitment to diversity by modeling for the state and nation a community of individuals and programs which seek to reduce prejudice, disparities, and discrimination and build a supportive environment for all.

Tags: dean's update