Dean’s Update 4/22/14

April 24th, 2014 Author: Linda Fox  |  706-542-4879  |  More about Linda


If you missed our recognition ceremony this week, the full story and photos are available on the FACS web site In addition to previously announced recipients of awards and honors, we also make the presentation and named the second Georgia Athletic Association Professor in the college. Recently approved by the Board of Regents, Dr. K.A.S. Wickrama, Human Development and Family Science was named the Georgia Athletic Association Professor II. He is a nationally recognized scholar and was named to hold this endowed professorship effective July 1. This is the second Athletic Association Professorship in the college. Congratulations, Dr. Wickrama!


Over thirty students applied and were interviewed to compete for selection into the newest class of College Ambassadors. On Tuesday, April 22, ten returning (second or third year Ambassadors) welcomed 14 new FACS Ambassadors. We thanked the ten graduating seniors and those completing service as FACS Ambassadors. The Ambassadors are all listed below.

New Ambassadors

Kristen Averett – Nutrition Science

Hillary Barfield – HDFS

Breanna Costner – HDFS/Pre-Law

Mica David – Nutrition Science & Cellular Biology

Madalene Dawson – Nutrition Science

Molly Catherine Dodd – Fashion Merchandising & Marketing

Kelsey Eenigenburg – HDFS & Consumer Economics

Samantha Henning – Furnishings & Interiors

Laura Olivia Newsome – HDFS

Caitlin Passino – Financial Planning

Amanda Schoon – HDFS

Sara Thompson – Furnishings & Interiors

Lucy Grace Tyler – HDFS

Jessica Williamson – Dietetics & Consumer Foods

Returning Ambassadors

Laura Eckhardt - FDN

Skye Estroff – FDN

Elizabeth Holland – TMI

Laura Hogan – TMI

Funmi Jemilugba - HDFS

Morgan Kupersmith - HDFS

Ivy Odom – FACS Education

Whitney Okie – FDN

Jordan Sylvester – FDN

Lauren Tolbert – TMI

Graduating Ambassadors

Hannah Adair – FHCE                       

Kelsey Brooks – FHCE

Hannah Dees – TMI

Savannah King – FDN

Sally Singletary – TMI

Tyler Baker – FHCE

Beth Coffey – HDFS

Lindsey Hutchins – HDFS  

Sara Beth Naylor – Consumer Jo.

Completing service

Laura Higgason - HDFS


Dr. J. Scott Angle, Dean and Director of the UGA College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, invites you to attend a celebration of Extension's legacy in Georgia. Join us Thursday, May 15, 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries, University of Georgia for a joyful evening featuring the new Centennial Timeline Exhibit. Festivities will highlight the most notable milestones of UGA Extension over the past century, while embracing the promising future that lies ahead. RSVP: Carla Wood, 706-583-0347 or by May 9. Dress: Business attire.

Join the timeline storyboard by submitting a favorite extension story from days working with Extension, as an employee or client (4-H student, etc.). Please also share your story:


The FAC elections have been completed. Faculty completing their two-year term and thanked for service are:

  • Barbara Grossman - FDN Representative
  • Jerry Gale - HDFS Rep
  • Rick Lewis, FDN - Professor Rep
  • Suraj Sharma, TMI - Assistant Professor Rep

Newly elected and joining the FAC for a two-year term beginning fall semester are:

  • FDN Rep – Joan Fischer
  • HDFS Rep – Ted Futris
  • Professor Rep – Leann Birch
  • Asst. Professor Rep – Sarah Zenti

Continuing members:

  • Teresa Mauldin, HACE Rep
  • Karen Tinsley, HACE, PSO Rep
  • Denise Lewis, HDFS – Associate Professor Rep
  • Lilia Gomez-Lanier – TMI Rep
  • Melissa Kozak, HDFS - Instructor/Lecturer Rep

The Associate Deans are also members of the FAC.


The popular Bulldog 100 and the 40 Under 40 programs are both open to nominations and have a short window of opportunity. The Bulldog 100 is a program that will determine and award the 100 fastest growing businesses owned or operated by UGA Alumni. Nomination are due May 31. Criteria can be found at


Lindsey Hutchins, Human Development and Family Science, is featured on the UGA web site as one of our Amazing Students Congratulations!


Caree Cotwright, FDN, has been selected as a 2014-2015 Service-Learning Fellow. She will receive a fellowship award of up to $2,500 to be used during FY15 for development her proposed project. Fellows will also have the opportunity to be matched with a mentor from previous Service-Learning Fellows cohorts based on areas of interest.

SCHEDULE (Dean’s travel and purpose during the next two weeks):

  • Development travel May 1 and 2, Gainesville and north Georgia.
  • The next Dean’s Update will be Tuesday, May 6, 2014.


Linda Kirk Fox


Tags: dean's update