Shoutouts - FACS

September 1st, 2015

FHCE assistant professor Kim Skobba was selected as the 2014 Educator of the Year by the Georgia Apartment Industry Education Foundation and won the 2014 Early Career Housing Award from the Housing Education and Research Association.

The Child Development Lab at the McPhaul Center has been named a model Early Care and Learning Program in Nutrition and Physical Activity by Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal’s Childhood Obesity Initiative, Georgia Shape.

HDFS professor and Extension specialist Ted Futris received the Best Paper award in Human Development and Family Studies published in the 2014 Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal. 

Joan Fischer, associate professor in FDN, received the Distinguished Service by a Researcher Award from the Georgia Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. 

Michael Rupured, a UGA Extension Consumer Economics Specialist and Senior Public Service Associate, has been named the Postsecondary Teacher of the Year by the Georgia Association of Teachers of Family and Consumer Sciences.

K.A.S. Wickrama, the Georgia Athletic Association Endowed Professor in HDFS, received a $2.5 million grant from the National Institutes of Health to study baby boomers’ marital relationships and health during their transition to later adulthood.

FHCE assistant professor Sophia Anong was selected as the College of Family and Consumer Sciences 2015 faculty Outstanding Undergraduate Advisor of the Year. 

FDN associate professor Art Grider received the UGA Student Career Development Award.

An article co-authored by FHCE faculty members Andy Carswell and Kim Skobba, “Community Land Trust Homeowners: Past and Present Housing Experiences,” was named the Best Paper in Housing that was published in the Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal during 2014.

Extension faculty member Judy Harrison received the Food Safety Award from the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

TMI faculty members Sarah Zenti, Lilia Gomez-Lanier and Patti Hunt-Hurst were awarded a grant from Cotton Incorporated for their proposal “Cotton for Healthy Living.”

FHCE associate professor Swarn Chatterjee was awarded the 2015 American Council on Consumer Interests Mid Career Award.

Extension specialist and professor emeritus Don Bower accepted the Community Program Award at the National Health Outreach Conference in Atlanta in May for the Georgia Traffic Injury Prevention Institute, which uses evidence-based educational interventions to reduce injuries and deaths from highway travel across Georgia.

FDN faculty member Barbara Grossman received the Outstanding Educator Award for a Dietetic Internship Program from the Association of Nutrition and Dietetics.

HDFS department head Emilie Smith serves as a guest editor for the top journal, Child Development, which is producing a special section on positive youth development in diverse and global contexts. 

FHCE assistant professor Ann Woodyard received the first Sweaney Innovation Fund award for $5,000 for 2015. Her proposal was to refresh and invigorate FACS 2000E.

TMI faculty members Suraj Sharma, Ian Hardin and Sergiy Minko were awarded a grant from the Walmart U.S. Manufacturing Innovation Fund in support of their work on an environmentally friendly fabric dyeing technique.


HDFS graduate student and research assistant Shaquinta Richardson was selected as a scholar for the Frances Degen Horowitz Millennium Scholars Program by the Society for Research in Child Development.

Zach Grunewald, foods and nutrition doctoral student, received the Kappa Omicron Nu Eileen C. Maddex Research Fellowship.

Lorien Jordan, a graduate student in HDFS, was named the recipient of the Feldman Outstanding Research Proposal for Research in Family Policy Award for her paper “The Policy Participation of Marriage and Family Therapists: A Modified Replication Study.”

Laura Eckhardt, a May 2015 foods and nutrition graduate, has been named to the Student Advisory Committee of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Samantha Manning, a fashion merchandising major from Lexington, received a $5,000 scholarship from the YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund.

Megan Hicks, a graduate research assistant in HDFS, has been awarded the C. Everett Koop HIV/AIDS Research Grant from the Rural Center for AIDS/STD Prevention.

Tags: facs magazine