April 11, 2022
Contact: Sheri Worthy  | 706-542-4860  | More about Sheri

Be Phishing Aware

In February and March, EITS conducted two phishing email simulations. University faculty, staff and student workers received an email designed to look like a phishing scam to their UGAMail inbox. During the February simulation, 20,052 emails were sent. About 15 percent of recipients clicked on the links, opening a webpage on the KnowBe4 website, which offered them tips to avoid phishing scams in the future. In March, 20,630 emails were sent and 13 percent of recipients clicked on the links. The phishing simulation is an exercise instituted by the University System of Georgia to help educate faculty and staff on recognizing email scams. EITS will continue to run phishing simulations on a regular basis, per USG directive. If you suspect you have received a real phishing scam, contact the EITS Help Desk at 706-542-3106 and forward the suspicious email with headers to abuse@uga.edu. For more information about the KnowBe4 phishing simulation, contact Ben Myers at bmyers@uga.edu.


With staff transitions, we want to make sure your emails are being answered in a timely way. The email addresses below are checked daily. 


  • Requests for the FACS Business Finance Office


  • Request for meetings with the Dean
  • Documents that need Dean's signature
  • Any documents that need Dean review/feedback
  • Any informational items that the Dean needs to be made aware of


  • Requests related to facilities

FACSHR@uga.edu (see Jenny’s 4/5 email for expected timelines on HR processing)

  • General HR questions    
  • Offer Letters                             
  • RSA Forms                                  
  • Supplements Forms               
  • Request to Fill Forms             


  • Requests related to Associate Dean Allisen Penn (Extension & Outreach)
  • Requests related to Associate Dean for Academic Programs
  • Curriculum Committee
  • Scholarships

Lance Palmer named Meigs Professor

Congratulations to Lance Palmer, professor in the Department of Financial Planning, Housing and Consumer Economics, on being named a Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor, the university’s highest recognition for excellence in instruction.

Read more here.

Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Please give your input to our College’s working definition of innovation and entrepreneurship.

Designing, testing, and/or implementing creative solutions to real needs of communities, families, and people (whether for profit or not-for-profit) using interdisciplinary methods.

Complete the quick Qualtrics survey here by April 15, 2022:


Well-Being Resources

As we near the end of the semester, keep in mind the resources available to you and students.

Students: https://well-being.uga.edu/  

Staff:  https://hr.uga.edu/Current_Employees/Benefits/Well-being/wellbeing/

Join us for Laughter Yoga tomorrow! Laughter is very effective at releasing tension in a positive way and has been proven to reduce stress and much more. Laughter Yoga follows a series of simple structured exercises using yoga type breathing. The most important requirement is a sense of playfulness when we laugh together until natural laughter occurs without effort.

You do not need to be happy, have a sense of humor or even a reason to laugh. No special clothing or gear are required, only a willing spirit and your vocal cords! Have a FACS colleague register with you! Register here.

  • Tuesday, April 12
  • 12:30 p.m. - 1 p.m. 
  • Georgia Center Room F/G

FACS Award Winners – Congratulations!

Bill and June Flatt Outstanding Teacher of the Year

Jennifer George, Human Development and Family Science Lecturer

Outstanding Undergraduate Faculty Advisor Award

Alex Anderson, Professor for Nutritional Sciences

Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advisor Staff Award

Julie Patterson, Academic Advisor

Tom Rodgers Outreach County Agent Award

Ida Jackson, Public Service Assistant for Cooperative Extension

Outreach Paraprofessional Award

Dajsha Johnson, Program Assistant for Cooperative Extension

Bill and June Flatt Outstanding Faculty Research

Claire de La Serre, Associate Professor for Nutritional Sciences

Early Career Faculty Research Awards

Behavioral/social science – Dee Warmath, Assistant Professor for Financial Planning, Housing and Consumer Economics

Physical/biological – Emily Noble, Assistant Professor for Nutritional Sciences

Faculty Mentoring Undergraduate Research Award

Vladimir Reukov, Assistant Professor for Textiles, Merchandising and Interiors

Super-Includer Award

Sherle Brown, part-time Instructor for Financial Planning, Housing and Consumer Economics

Nettie Marie Nickols Outstanding Staff Award

Tiffany Williams, Assistant Coordinator for Extension and Outreach, Nutritional Sciences

Susan Hale Brooks Professional Development Staff Award

Jennifer MacDonald, Post-Award Grants Lead for the Business and Finance Office

Endsley-Peifer Student Research Award ($1,200 each)

Julie Jeon, doctoral student in the Department of Nutritional Sciences

  • Jeon, J., Lourenco, J., Kaiser, E., Waters, E., Scheulin, K. M., Fang, X., Kinder, H., Platt, S., Rothrock Jr., M., Callaway, T. R., West, F., & Park, H. J. (2020). Dynamic Changes in the gut microbiome at the acute stage of ischemic stroke in a pig model, Frontiers in Neuroscience.

Anne McInnis, doctoral student in the Department of Textiles, Merchandising and Interiors

  • McInnis, A., & Medvedev, K. (2021). Sartorial appearance management strategies of creative professional women over age 50 in the fashion industry, Fashion Practice.

Smriti Rai, doctoral student in the Department of Textiles, Merchandising and Interiors

  • Rai, S., Saremi, R., Sharma, S., & Minko, S. (2021). Environment-friendly anocellulose-indigo dyeing of textiles, Green Chemistry.

Prince Kwabena Osie, doctoral student in the Department of Nutritional Sciences

  • Osei, P. K., Appiah, C., & Anderson, A. K. (2021). Impact of dietetic intervention on metabolic syndrome patients attending diet therapy clinic: A prospective, single-arm Intervention Study, Global Journal of Health Science

The Zoom recording of Thursday’s College Assembly can be found here. Passcode: yn0!wHnS.

Here is the PowerPoint: College Assembly 4_7_22 Slides.pptx

The 2nd annual FACS Leadership Symposium was a success! The following participated this year:

  • Amanda Carlson
  • Ayomide Fashola
  • Cara Simmons
  • Dy'Amond Mc Ghee
  • Julie Patterson
  • Mackenzie White
  • Melissa Garber
  • Morgan Alexander
  • Olivia Sawyer
  • Sara Idacavage
  • Sha'Mira Covington
  • Shanise Johnson
  • Zachary La Roche

Take a few minutes to check out the submissions here

A reception in honor of Lynn Parham’s retirement will be held Friday, April 29 in 216 Dawson from 3:30-4:30 p.m. An RSVP invitation will be sent soon. Thank you to Tonya Harris, Lora Shue, Kandice Mitchell, Lynn Bailey and Karli Cotton for planning this event. If you would like to donate toward a gift for Lynn, please give your donation to either Karli Cotton in the Dean’s Unit or Tonya Harris in Room 280 Dawson (cash only please).

Upcoming Dates

April 18, 2022: UGA Honors Week


May 13, 2022, UGA Spring Commencement

  • 9:30 a.m., Graduate Ceremony, Stegeman Coliseum
  • 3 p.m., FACS Convocation, Classic Center
  • 7:30 p.m., Undergraduate Ceremony, Sanford Stadium


Sheri Worthy